Midnight woodwork


Yesterday I met Pinocchio
— without the strings attached —
he sat beside me,
on the nightrain leading to
another place than here,
(somewhere too close to nowhere)

His slanted tie was resting
limpid, tired on his sunken chest;
his suit was stained with saw-dust,
and shoelaces untied.

Bourbon breathingly he
stammered in his smartphone,
“Darling I am late, soo much to do,
burning midnight-oil to pay our loans”

Cinderella’s lipstick on his collar,
nose was slowly growing.
He looked at me:“Excuse me sir,
could I ask for your assistance?”
I nodded (after all he was polite)

From deep inside his pocket
he handed me a tiny saw;
whispered (bending boozy air my way)
“An inch should be enough
to hide my little lie tonight”
He pointed at his purple-bluish nose.
Bending down his head was resting
gently on the seat beside me.

My wood-work skill is limited
but I can use a saw,
Evidence removed, he thanked
and shook my hand.

Remaining silent after that
carefully Pinocchio prepared himself
with chewing-gum to meet his wife.

C._COLLODI,_Le_avventure_di_Pinocchio_(prefazione_di_Attilio_Momigliano,_lineografie_di_B._Albi_Bachini_di_anni_15,_Editrice_La_Tifernate,_Libreria_G._PACI,_Unione_Arti_grafiche,_1944-1948)_edizione_celeste
Today Claudia run MTB at dVerse and she encourages us to include some magic in our poem:

– Where something or someone that/who is not real suddenly becomes real&alive
– Where a character from a book shows up in your poem
– Where someone suddenly disappears and finds themselves in a whole new place…


December 12, 2014

36 responses to “Midnight woodwork

  1. Ha ha….my illusions about Pinocchio are now shattered! I never would have figured him for a drinking two-timer. What next! Smiles.

  2. oha…if his wife is smart she will smell the sawdust from the fresh cut… smiles… cool write björn… as a kid i hated pinochio cause he always got lost – and probably i was just too lost myself that i couldn’t bear it….

  3. So very impressed with your marvelous morphing of fairy tale, morality, night trains, & tiny saws. After we finish chuckling at your catchy choices, your invigorating imagination, brother, the moral drops on us like the other shoe, bam; love this one.

  4. I liked Pinocchio in Luigi Comencini’s version. It is the only one that really touched me. Now I see he has not improved with time. That’s a shame! I thought he was smarter.

  5. Under an apparent spell he had no choice. He needed to have it sawn off following each retort. As long as it grew it would not be a problem which meant more lies! Chuckles Bjorn!

    Hank

  6. A saw! You know, he’;ll be as exposed as Cinderella’s step sisters wose feet were trimmed. It’s too bad. I rather liked Pinochio.

I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.