Forgive me not – repetition in dVerse


“Forgive me” said a thousand times in poetry could be a song of true repent. But alas in reality of life, “forgive me” always come out diluted, loss of meaning lies in the repeated sins. “Forgive me”, I say again and yet again. “Forgive me” and I love you so, becoming platitudes, a nothingness like the boy who cried wolf. Forgive me this, forgive me that, means nothing now. So the day I really need forgiveness, only emptiness of hope remains. Repetition of offenses can never been forgiven just by asking: “Forgive me”. So save the precious words of asking for forgiveness till it’s really needed, just like the boy who cried wolf.

Her lying words repeated turn blooms withering from too much water.

Francis Barlow's illustration to the boy who cried wolf

Francis Barlow’s illustration to the boy who cried wolf


Today at dVerse Poetics Karin asks us to consider repetitions in lines and/or repeated experience. I liked the prose poetry so I decided to repeat that, but added an american sentence to make my little version of haibun. I’m back home again after a few days in California.

January

39 responses to “Forgive me not – repetition in dVerse

  1. I agree with this, Bjorn. All make little mistakes from one day to another; but the words ‘forgive me’ should be used for very hurtful offenses about which one feels true and deep remorse and knows one will not repeat again!

  2. I agree that action needs to match the words. Asking for forgiveness while repeating the same pattern soon becomes meaningless indeed. However there are people who can never say ‘Forgive me’ and they are not easy to live with either.

  3. first…i flew by your plane window with your birthday cake but you didn’t see me as you were watching movies…ha…smiles…happy birthday björn… hope you’re not too jet-lagged… it is true..if we too quickly say forgive me, forgive me it becomes worthless..and empty phrase that means nothing any more and people are tired of it if we really need forgiveness…

  4. “Forgive me”, like the words “trust me” are too often used like the triteness of parroting “I love you” without actually feeling it, living it, meaning it. A great prose poem has emerged, like a nubile girl running free without panties, and the American sentence is a poem in itself; a grand rocking of the prompt, brother.

  5. there comes a point when they ask forgiveness so many times that it does tend to lose its meaning…i struggle with the repetition aspect of forgiveness at times….at what point are we to blame for letting them walk all over us…?

    happy birthday b….

  6. “Forgive me”—becomes the saddest line when we miss the real essence of asking for it which is.to walk the change more than talk the regrets. Just saying ‘i’m sorry’ is not enough without the added effort to improve & / or be better than the last. smiles.

  7. Ha. My children say my apologies are worse than my offense as usually the apology is coupled with some remark about how whatever I am apologizing for was the other person’s fault! (Well, sometimes they say this–not always, thankfully.) But your points are well taken here, Bjorn. Thanks for participating. k.

  8. I like the theme, saying forgive me too many times is too much ~ That american sentence says it all ~ belated happy birthday to you ~

  9. This is so true, Bjorn. Some people keep asking for forgiveness, but then they repeat the same hurtful things over and over! Then it becomes hard to trust them again. And if they don’t change for real, you just have to let them go. Well done with the repetition in verse and also the concept of crying wolf is repetitive in itself.

  10. So true–’forgive me,’ ‘I’m sorry,’ can be the emptiest words on the planet, as hollow as someone who repeats the actions that require them–if one is sorry, really, one learns,one tries not to hurt. Hope you enjoyed California Bjorn. I certainly enjoyed this.

  11. Forgive me for forgetting your birthday!!! I would often tell my girls the Boy who cried wolf story as my youngest was always in the Sick Bay at school…Like the prose poetry.

  12. You combined repetition in both the prose poem and the subject matter. How often we ask forgiveness when we haven’t done anything…just to resolve a situation! Not an easy subject to consider at times.

  13. Wow this is so true! I really enjoyed reading this :) Like alot of things, a phrase that once held so much value has been devalued by common insincerity. :/

  14. I so agree…well done. The trick is in not committing the infraction in the first place. The words ring completely hollow after too many repetitions.

I love your feedback

